

CURRICULUM POLICY COMMITTEE (CPC) Academic Year 2019-2020

The CPC, in association with its various subcommittees, is the primary curriculum committee for the Medical School and is charged with:

- 1. Defining the objectives of the educational program and forwarding the objectives to the Executive Committee for approval.
- 2. Recommending changes to policies concerning the learning environment, educational standards, grading, or promotion, and other relevant institutional standards for the M.D. degree to the Executive Committee for endorsement.
- 3. The integrated institutional responsibility for the overall design, management, evaluation, and central oversight of a coherent, efficient, and coordinated curriculum.
- 4. Developing and implementing policies regarding the amount of time medical students spend in required activities, including the total number of hours that students are required to spend in clinical and educational activities during clinical clerkship rotations.
- 5. Determining the types of patients, clinical conditions, and appropriate clinical settings for education experiences, along with the expected level of medical student responsibility.
- 6. Monitoring, and when necessary, modifying the curriculum, medical student experiences, and methods used to assess student performance to ensure that the objectives of each student course, as well as the overall medical educational program, are achieved.
- 7. Reviewing and approving the passing standards for all courses and clerkships towards the M.D. degree.
- 8. Ensuring mechanisms that invite input from all faculty on the curriculum, draft policies, and actions of the CPC.
- 9. Promoting innovations and individualized learning pathways for students.
- 10. Developing, monitoring, and disseminating information on professional attributes that students are expected to develop at the Medical School.
- 11. Maintaining compliance with all relevant Liaison Committee on Medical Education standards (LCME).

Membership (voting members) – 11 total

- Five appointed members as Curriculum Representatives with alternatives:
 - o Dr. Seetha Monrad, Assistant Dean for Assessment, Evaluation and Quality Improvement
 - Alternatives Dr. Steve Gay or Dr. Tamara Gay
 - o Dr. Jennifer Stojan, Director, Doctoring Course Longitudinal Curriculum
 - Alternatives Dr. Meg Dobson or Dr. David Steward
 - Phase Representatives:
 - Scientific Trunk Leadership Dr. Jill Cherry-Bukowiec
 - Alternatives Dr. Asra Ahmed or Dr. Andrew Tai
 - Clinical Trunk Leadership Dr. Cyril Grum
 - Alternatives Dr. Tom Sisson or Dr. David Belmonte
 - Branches Leadership Dr. Kate Klein
 - Alternatives Dr. Mike Englesbe or Dr. Helen Morgan
- Six elected members from the Executive Faculty with 3-year rotating terms (three Basic Science Representatives and three Clinical Representatives):

BASIC SCIENCE REPRESENTATIVES	CLINICAL SCIENCE REPRESENTATIVES
Evan Sean Snitkin Microbiology and Immunology (term 09/01/19 – 08/31/22)	Jocelyn Schiller, M.D. Pediatrics (term 09/01/19 – 08/31/22)
Kayvan Najarian, Ph.D. Computational Medicine & Bioinformatics (term 09/01/18 – 08/31/21)	Emily E. Peoples, M.D. Anesthesiology (term 09/01/18 – 08/31/21)
Anne B. Vojtek, Ph.D. Biological Chemistry (term 09/01/17 – 08/31/20)	Marc Peters-Golden, M.D. Internal Med; Pulmonary & Critical Care (term 09/01/17 – 08/31/20)

• Ad Hoc Members (non-voting):

Michelle Daniel, M.D. – Assistant Dean for Curriculum – *Chair*Rajesh Mangrulkar, M.D. – Associate Dean for Medical Student Education – *ex officio*Joseph Kolars, M.D. – Senior Associate Dean for Education and Global Initiatives – *ex officio*

Andrew Tai, M.D., Ph.D. – Scientific Trunk Leadership *
Angela Hickey – Branches Program Manager
Asra Ahmed, M.D. – Scientific Trunk Leadership *
Brian Simko – HITS

David Belmonte, M.D. – Director – Communication Skills *

David Stewart, M.D. – Assistant Director, Doctoring Course Longitudinal Curriculum *

Deborah Berman, M.D. - M-Home Faculty Director

Emily Ginier, M.L.S.I., – Librarian, Health Sciences Library

Heather Wagenschutz, M.A., M.B.A. – Director of Curriculum Services

Helen Morgan, M.D. – Co-Director-Standardized Patient Based Assessment; Director – Comprehensive Clinical Assessment *

Jennifer Imsande, Ph.D. – MHome Program Director

Justine Hein – Assistant Director of MSTP

Karri Grob, M.A., Ed.S. – Director of Student Services

Lisa Schneider, MHSA. – Co-Director, Paths of Excellence; Program Manager, Leadership & Health Systems Science

Meg Dobson, M.D. – Assistant Director, Doctoring Course Longitudinal Curriculum *

Michael Englesbe, M.D. – Director – Professional Development Branches *

Molly Dwyer-White, M.P.H., - Patient & Family Centered Care

Nell Kirst, M.D. – Assistant Director – Leadership

Oluwaferanmi O. Okanlami, M.D., M.S. – OHEI

Patrick Bridge, Ph.D. – Director of Evaluation and Assessment

Priscilla Hohmann, LLMSW, MDIV – Inter-professional Education Program Manager

Rachel Sprovtsoff, M.A. – Clinical Trunk Program Manager

Rosalyn Maben-Feaster, M.D. – Director, Health Systems Science

Sara Weir, M.A. – Director – Medical School Accreditation and Continuous Quality Improvement

Scott Gitlin, M.D. – GME

Steven Gay, M.D. – Assistant Dean for Admissions *

Tamara Gay, M.D. – Assistant Dean for Student Services *

Thomas Sisson, M.D. – Clinical Trunk *

Tom Bishop, Psy.D., M.A. – Director – Inter-professional Education

Students (non-voting)

M1 Student Representatives – CJ Schellack & Kaavya Puttagunta

M2 Student Representatives – Jasmine Nevarez & Eric Wilson

M3 Student Representatives – Rahul Puttagunta & Gracia Vargas

M4 Student Representatives – Josh Kurtz

MSTP Student Representatives – Michael Dieterle

CPC Administrator, Medical Student Education

Jonie Josephs, MAHCL, CMA (AAMA) 734-763-6770 or jonie@med.umich.edu

^{*} Alternative Voting Member