Scholastic Awards

Academic Achievement Award

The Academic Achievement Award, on the recommendation of the faculty of the Medical School, is given to the graduating senior who has achieved the highest academic standing in his or her medical school class. The award is sponsored by the Medical Center Alumni Society.
       Lynze Franko

Academic Recognition Awards

Academic Recognition Awards are presented to the top five graduates who have demonstrated academic excellence throughout the four years of their medical education.


Jacob Cedarbaum
Lynze Franko
Alexander Joseph Hjelmaas
Rahuol Iyengar
Daniel Nelson

Alpha Omega Alpha (AOA)

AOA is the only national honor medical society. Its mission is to recognize and enhance professionalism, academic excellence, service, and leadership within the profession. The society’s motto is “Worthy to serve the suffering” and membership is based upon scholarship and character.


Genevieve Allen
Sarah Banks
Jacob Cedarbaum
Nicole Cremer
Kristen Cross
Ilana Fischer
Lynze Franko
Catherine Gilbert
Vinay Guduguntla
Alexander Hjelmaas
Emily Hogikyan
Hilary Iskin
Rahul Iyengar
Daniel Kim
Lauren Merz
Jeffrey Nadel
Daniel Nelson
Jennifer Neva
Kelsie Oatmen
Norman Orabi
Rebecca Pilkerton
Andrew Schuler
Joshua Smith
Raymond Strobel
Jennifer Sun
Brian Weiland
Gregory Woods
Megan Zakerski

Glasgow-Rubin Certificate of Commendation for Academic Achievement

This award is given to a woman medical student, graduating with academic distinction, should she graduate first in her class.
       Lynze Franko

Glasgow-Rubin Citations for Academic Achievement

These awards are presented by the American Medical Women's Association to those women who graduate with academic distinction from medical schools throughout the country.


Kristen Elizabeth Cross
Catherine Michelle Gilbert
Lauren Elizabeth Merz
Jennifer Aaron Neva
Megan Kathryn Zakerski
Katherine Rose Zurales